Musings

Resolve to Advocate and Educate in 2015

Too many times in my life I have encountered people who have limited (or no) knowledge about the topics that I am passionate about and find invaluable in daily life, and I’m sure you have too. Everyone has ideas, topics, and philosophies that they would like more people to understand and appreciate. For me, two of these are neuroscience and feminism. Both of these terms are greatly misunderstood, ambiguous ideas that, with the right explanation, could change the way individuals perceive the world and the way they live their lives.

As a Neuroscience and Behavior major at Simmons College, I know that even a small amount of information regarding the brain and the nervous system can go a long way. I do my best to share basic information on this fascinating area of study with people I am close with, as well as people I meet in my daily travels. I am currently conducting research with a professor concerning the impact of nutrition on memory and cognition, and I love describing our findings as well the importance of statistics and research in everyday life. Learn more about the fascinating history of neuroscience and the many branches of this advancing science: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/248680.php

As a woman and a person, I believe in equality in every capacity. I identify as a feminist and an advocate for gender and racial equality. There is much confusion and many strong opinions regarding feminism, but when it comes down to it, feminism has a very elegant and understandable definition: “the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities,” according to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. I do my best to explain this to as many people as I can. I try to demonstrate the power of feminism through descriptions of the work of She’s the First, a non-profit organization that I work with that advocates for and sponsors the education of girls in developing nations. As Everyday Feminism explains, “we’re all fighting for human rights.” Read more: http://everydayfeminism.com/2012/07/feminism-is-for-everyone/

This year, I am challenging myself to try even harder to further educate friends, peers, and strangers about the topics I am passionate about, and I challenge you to do the same. I have come across people who are not learned in these topics and show skepticism and scorn, but this only shows me that I must work harder to spread these ideas farther and educate more people. Wherever your passion lies (neuroscience, feminism, human rights, animal rights, literature, music, ANYTHING), make sure to include others. Teach, advocate, inspire. And 2015 will be a better year for us all.

Source: aminoapps.com
Source: aminoapps.com
Leave a Reply

